top of page

Yellow Cake with Chocolate Frosting

This is the cake, my friends. It is the perfect balance of dense and light with the most amazing chocolate frosting. It's the cake I request every year for my birthday!


Sometimes my Mom made it for me.

Sometimes I made it for myself.

One time I made it gluten free for myself.

Sometimes my roommates made it for me.

One time a family on my mission made it for me.

One time my fiancé made it for me.


And one time, YOU made it, and LOVED it! Right? ;)



 

YELLOW CAKE + CHOCOLATE FROSTING


INGREDIENTS:

  • 2 1/2 cups All-Purpose Flour

  • 2 1/2 tsp. Baking Powder

  • 1/2 tsp. Salt

  • 2/3 cup Unsalted Butter

  • 1 3/4 cup White Sugar

  • 1 1/2 tsp. Vanilla Extract

  • 2 Eggs

  • 1 1/4 cups Milk


INSTRUCTIONS:

  1. Grease and lightly flour two 9-inch or three 6-inch cake pans. You can also cook in a 9x13.

  2. Combine flour, baking powder, and salt. Set aside.

  3. In large mixing bowl, beat butter with electric mixer on medium for 30 seconds.

  4. Add sugar and vanilla and beat until well combined.

  5. Add eggs, one at a time, beating for 1 minute after each egg.

  6. Gradually add dry mixture and milk, alternating additions and beating on low speed till just combined.

  7. Bake at 375°F for 30-35 minutes or until a wooden toothpick comes out clean. They should be yellow in color with a bit a golden brown on top.

  8. Cool cake layers on wire racks for 10 minutes.

  9. Remove layers from pans and cool completely before frosting.


CHOCOLATE FROSTING:


INGREDIENTS:

  • 4 1/2 cup Powdered Sugar

  • 1/2 cup Cocoa Powder

  • 1/2 cup Unsalted Butter, softened

  • 1/3 cup boiling Water

  • 1 tsp. Vanilla Extract


INSTRUCTIONS:

  1. Combine powdered sugar, and cocoa powder.

  2. Add butter, boiling water, and vanilla.

  3. Beat with an electric mixer on low speed till well combined.

  4. Beat for 1 minute on medium speed.

  5. Cool for 20-30 minutes before frosting.


35 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page